Morisawa Type Design Competition 2019 Winners Announced

Morisawa Inc.(CEO: Akihiko Morisawa, Head Office: 2 Chome-6-25 Shikitsuhigashi, Naniwa Ward, Osaka, Contact Number +81 06-6649-2151) is pleased to announce the final result of Morisawa Type Design Competition 2019.

Morisawa Type Design Competition 2019 was held to seek the most updated, unique, and challenging typefaces with the juries who are representatives from various fields.The submission period was from November 1, 2018, to January 31, 2019. We received 813 entry works from 53 countries (258 works for Japanese category, 555 works for Latin category). This was the largest number of the entries since the first competition held in 2012.


The final review was held on May 15 and 16, at Morisawa head office. After the two days of intense evaluation, Gold prize, Silver prize, Bronze prize (one work each), and Honorable Mention (three works) were selected as Morisawa Award for both Kanji and Latin category. Judges were: Issei Kitagawa, Osamu Torinoumi, Ryoko Nishizuka, and Masaaki Hiromura for Kanji category; Ilya Ruderman, Indra Kupferschmid, Cyrus Highsmith and Laura Meseguer for Latin category; and Mathew Carter as the Emeritus jury.

The 1st and 2nd place of Peopleʼs Choice were elected by public voting. Unfortunately, no entries won the theme- based Akashi award his time. 16 winner works will receive each of Morisawa Awards and People’s Choice in total four categories. The portfolio book that includes all the winning works and the comments from the judges will be published this autumn. The award ceremony will be held at Kanda Myojin Hall (Tokyo) on September 3, 2019. We will keep updating the further information about the ceremony on our official competition website.

Winners and Entry Works

Kanji Category, Morisawa Award

Gold Prize

Hougetsu Kaisho by Yoko Kaku (Japan)

Silver Prize

NibuShibu by Daisuke Fukushi (Japan)

Bronze Prize

Ribaasu by Tien-Min Liao (Taiwan)

Honorable Mention

tr by Uchikiba Ganta (Japan)

Nijitako Tengoku by Mie Yokota (Japan)

Mimizuku by Shinji Shinkai (Japan)

Latin Category, Morisawa Award

Gold Prize

Areon Light / Italic Light / Regular / Italic Regular / Extrabold / Italic Extrabold

by Noheul Lee (South Korea)

Silver Prize

Kolektiv Light / Light Italic / Book / Book Italic / Medium / Bold

by Ondřej Báchor (Switzerland)

Bronze Prize

Easy by Théo Guillard (France)

Honorable Mention

Courbe by Olga Pankova (Russia)

ER Canto Text / Bold Text / Display / Bold Display / Display Italic

by Eduardo Garcia Rennó Pereira (Brazil, Portugal)

DR Kruk by Dmitry Rastvortsev (Ukraine)


The name and the ID of the finalists are as follows:

Kanji Category

J000021  Bin Ge

J000083  Natsumi Terauchi

J000166  Shun Takeuchi

J000194  Yuedong Shuai

J000217  Haoyu Pang

J000240  Aki Toyoshima

J000243 / J010243 / J020243 / J030243 / J040243 / J050243 / J060243 Hidemi Nanao

J000266  Mayuka Nanbu/Toshiyasu Nanbu

J000294  Miki Ooba

J000299  Shunsuke Miyakawa

J000309  Art Edge

J000395 / J000400  Wenqiang Cao

J000418  Tomoko Tezuka

J000474  Di Tao

Latin Category

L000127  Lewis McGuffie

L000248  Potch Auacherdkul

L000263  Ryuichi Tateno

L030275  Michelangelo Nigra

L000309 / L010309  Aaron Bell

L000356 / L000563 / L000564 / L000565  Zrinka Buljubasic

L000377 / L010377 / L020377 / L030377 / L040377  Mew Varissara Ophaswongse

L000403 / L010403 / L020403  Lucas Franco

L000465  André Baldinger & Toan Vu-Huu with Jimmy le Guennec Baldinger & Vu-Huu

L000469  Lucas Franco & Claudio Rocha

L000497 / L010497 / L020497 / L030497 / L040497 / L050497  Crt Mate

L000522 / L010522  Jonathan Cuervo

L000568  Timothy Donaldson

Kanji Category, People's Choice

1st place

The Big Jaw by Fang-Ping Lin (Taiwan)

2nd place

Kanraku Mincho by Furantsu Sumi(Japan)

Latin Category, People's Choice

1st place

Courbe by Olga Pankova (Russia)

2nd place

Apogee by Michael Aronson(United States of America)

Akashi Award

No applicable works

We had 28 entries for the theme of “Variable Fonts” from around the world. The entry works are in a wide range, from practical design to conceptual proposals. This theme-based style was our first attempt, and we sincerely appreciate those who participated in the competition.

We found many works with unique features, but they did not implement intermediate weights and were not reach the level to be evaluated as a variable font. There were some high-quality works, but then these were not new or progressive suggested in the competition’s guideline in terms of the numbers of axes or range of design. Therefore we decide not to select a winner for this award. We will continuously strive to improve this competition active and to be a place to share and show new designs.

Award Ceremony

The award ceremony will be held at Kanda Myojin Hall (Tokyo) on September 3, 2019.

Date: Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Location: Kanda Myojin Hall (Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo)

Please note that you will need to apply to join the event. Details will be announced on our website (Please do NOT contact to the venue directly )